Buying Wholesale

Buying for the shoppe is a time-consuming but fun process. I enjoy searching for unique antique, vintage and custom items to add to my inventory. Unfortunately, some items are difficult to find. I rarely come across floral items that are in good condition, and pillows are almost impossible.

Custom Pillows

Because of this, I have worked with an expert quilter to create a line of custom pillows made from the salvageable parts of antique quilts, and I am gearing-up to create another line of custom pillows with Evelyn from EJT Upholstery in Fort Worth. I love the custom pillows because they are one-of-a-kind creations that can be found only at THE TORN POCKET.

THE TORN POCKET

Custom items can be pricey however so I have looked at some wholesale outlets to find good quality, unique pillows to help create other price points for my customers.

 

Buying Wholesale

Buying wholesale takes a bit of time and planning. You must have a tax ID number in order to purchase items wholesale, which means you have registered your business with the state where you operate. The wholesaler will require verification of your tax status before purchasing and often before browsing their websites or entering a buyers marketplace. This is usually done on a standard form which includes your tax ID number, your type of business, and what type of products you intend to purchase.

The Paperwork is the Easy Part

I have found that the paperwork is the easy part. Finding good quality items that compliment the other inventory in your shoppe is more difficult, and it took months of searching before I found these beautiful hand-hooked pillows.

They are now available at the Gracie Lane shoppe in Arlington. Just in time for the fall decorating season too.

Not Made in the USA

My only complaint is that these are not made in the United States so they do add more substantially to the carbon footprint (always a concern for me).  I will continue my hunt, but finding pillows or slipcovers that compliment my inventory and have the made in America stamp has alluded me thus far. I may have to design an affordable line of my own.   As always . . .

– Wishing you a day filled with good things –

 

#thetornpocket #decorativepillows #shoppingwholesale #choosinginventory #pillows

Leave a comment